Quantum lightweight trolley wins Crystal Cabin Award

Montreal, Canada / Neu-Isenburg, Germany – Quantum, the new lightweight trolley jointly developed by LSG Sky Chefs and Norduyn, has been awarded the Crystal Cabin Award 2010 at this week’s Aircraft Interiors Expo in Hamburg. A judging panel consisting of international aviation experts, including engineers, corporate executives, scientists and airline representatives, chose the winners from a total of 64 entries from 13 countries.

Quantum was selected as the most innovative aircraft cabin product in the Greener Cabin, Health and Safety category. It was recognized for being significantly lighter in weight compared to traditional aluminum frame trolleys, which greatly reduces fuel-burn and therefore carbon emissions. The judges also commended the product for reducing the need for dry ice through improved insulation properties, limiting maintenance costs through a sturdier design and less parts, and improving fleet management and tracking with integrated RFID chips.

“We have worked hard to produce a high-quality product for our customers, that is not only improved through technology, but also meets the daily needs of airlines and crews” agreed Mathieu Boivin, CEO of Norduyn and Erdmann Rauer, Senior Vice President Sales and Marketing of LSG Sky Chefs. “We had a huge amount of interest for Quantum at our booths where we provided airlines with a simulation of the savings they could achieve” they added.

Quantum recently received airworthiness certification, allowing it to be used onboard by airlines worldwide. Production has begun with the ATLAS half-size and full-size trolleys, and further models will be added to the series in 2011.

Media Contact

Would you like to know more about us?
For media-related inquiries, simply fill out the contact form, send us an email or give us a call.

Alexandra Appel
Phone: +49 6102 240-0 (FOR MEDIA REQUESTS ONLY)

Send an email to our Global Media Team

Media Contact (USA)
Dana Gill
Phone: +1 (817) 653 3161

Send an email to our US Media Team